LOU LOU AND PEA AND THE MURAL MYSTERY
Meet LOU LOU BOMBAY and PEACOCK PEARL!

1. They have been best friends since first grade.

2. Pea is proper, Lou Lou is not!

3. Lou Lou loves gardening, Pea prefers art.

4. But neither can turn down an adventure...

Every Friday afternoon, they get together in Lou Lou's backyard garden for their PSPP (Post-School-Pre-Parents) tea party. They chat about school, discuss Pea's latest fashions, and plot the weekend's activities.

But all plans go out the window when a series of small crimes crop up around El Corazón, their quirky neighborhood, right before the Día de los Muertos procession. First, Pea's cousin's quinceañera dress is tragically ruined. Then Lou Lou's beloved camellia bush, Pinky, suffers a serious blow. And that's just the beginning! When clues start to appear in El Corazón's outdoor murals, the best friends join forces, using Lou Lou's floral expertise and Pea's artistic genius to solve the mysteries.

Praise for LOU LOU AND PEA AND THE MURAL MYSTERY:

"a pleasant, breezy friendship tale for middle grade readers who also enjoy a light mystery" - School Library Journal

"Diamond’s graceful use of diverse characters and customs, including half-Mexican Pea, creates a rich and more representative world. Expressive line drawings flesh out the text and give further insight into the girls and their community, resulting in an immersive mystery with minimal tension. Give this gateway to the cozies to inseparable friends or your future No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency readers." - Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"young readers will want to follow Lou Lou and Pea as they piece together clues and try to get to the bottom of the mystery" - Booklist

LOU LOU AND PEA AND THE BICENTENNIAL BONANZA

BFFs Lou Lou Bombay and Peacock Pearl are busy preparing for the Bicentennial Bonanza, their city’s two-hundredth birthday bash! And this year, the party will take place in their beloved neighborhood of El Corazón. With a baking contest, talent show, and a new gazebo planned, the community can’t wait to celebrate the founders (and historical BFFs), Diego Soto and Giles Wonderwood. But when Vice-Mayor Andy Argyle claims the festivities belong to Verde Valley, using a mysterious diary as evidence, Lou Lou and Pea smell trouble. Will the friends be able to uncover the secrets of their city’s founding, and bring the Bonanza back to El Corazón?

Praise for LOU LOU AND PEA AND THE BICENTENNIAL BONANZA:

"With its soft illustrations, diverse cast of characters, and engaging and accessible style, this is an ideal recommendation for readers wishing to take the leap from simplistic chapter books to richer novels." - School Library Journal

 

"Fans of Lou Lou and Pea and the Mural Mystery (2016) will welcome this second adventure, but readers new to the series will not be at a disadvantage." - Booklist

  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic

​FOLLOW ME

© 2016 by Jill Diamond